Blood In The Atlantic

My slate is never clean enough

All good intentions failed

All the words and expressions

Rot in cancellation jail

I know the right people

Will never take the fall

And this place has grown so empty

I won’t miss you at all

So bag up all the treasures

And cut all of the lights

This life was never, ever

Going down as a fair fight

They built an Aldi supermarket

On the place that was my grave

I wish I’d just dropped dead

At some 2005 rave,

And I don’t know who I can call

My friend or my foe

But that doesn’t matter now –

We all go out alone

The man called me silent

But I’ve burned out all the words

This Tory-throttled circus

Creaks on empty and absurd

So I leaned in close and gave a hint

And all that just to say

That when I’m gone, my squirrelly friend

There’ll be fucking hell to pay…

.

Oh, I’ll be gone like dust on wind

And don’t you worry ‘bout a thing

But I wear a smirk as I relay –

I’ve cooked you fucking hell to pay…

You won’t silence me so easy

There’s ghosts on the wind

These digital daggers for the hearts

Of those who have sinned

I’ll be gone, and I’ll be gone

But one last thing I’ll spit

This time Eden’s sent you far more

Than a boxed-up shit.

(I wish you understood those lines

I wish you had known him,

But the time for wreathing dreams from air

Has worn now far too thin…)

And in squalid groups all over town

The hopeless come to meet

I laughed when death was the very worst thing,

They could lay at my feet –

I ran into the starlit night

And on the highway I was free

‘Cause if death’s the thing you’ll threaten, friend

You ain’t ahead of me

But over the nights and days

When I have gone away

I’ll tell you this, you fucking cunt

There’ll be utter hell to pay

This place is such a fucked up mess

Why can’t you look and see

That of all the things you’re missing here

The least of them is me

It’s all so quaintly irrelevant now

And I am on my way

I’m smiling at the sight

Of no more bleak Earthly days

But I tell you this, you fucking cunt

And you can run it up the chain

That the day they find me gone

Is the beginning of the game

For every oath you fractured

And every second of this pain

The hell that I’ve been cooking

Is carved out with your name…

.

I won’t go full on Taxi Driver

Sweep the scum right off these streets

But just because there ain’t no guns,

Don’t mean you’ll catch no heat

Don’t ever underestimate

The self destructive ~girl~

Pain is her friend and now, you cunt

I’m coming for your world

Leave a comment